Tuesday, June 4, 2013

How To Reassign Shared Folder Permissions

Windows lets users restrict access to the folders by assigning permission levels to them. Shared folders are such restricted access folders where users have mainly two different permission levels including Read Only and Read and Write. The permission level can be set either to each individual user or to everyone on the computer network for the shared folder. In the folders that have Read-only permissions option assigned, users may only view the contents of the shared folder. And those folders with the Read and Write permissions option assigned, users may edit and delete files, as well as create new files in the shared folders. The following computer support guidelines will let you reassign shared folder permissions easily. 


Open Windows Explorer. If you are using Windows XP/Vista, right-click the Start button and select the option Explore from the popup menu. This will bring up Windows Explorer. In Windows 7 computer, simply click on the Windows Explorer icon located at the bottom left of the desktop in the Windows 7 taskbar. 
Browse to the shared folder location and right-click on it to restrict permissions. 
Click the Share option if it is Windows 7 or Vista. You will now get a notification window that says the folder is already shared. You will the option to remove sharing from the folder or to change permissions. If it is Windows XP, click the option Properties and then click the Sharing tab.
Now select the Change Sharing Permissions option. This will bring up the File Sharing user permissions interface in Windows 7 and Vista. In XP, click the Permissions button.
You will find a down arrow to the right of the user name for each user. Click on it and select the level of permissions for Windows 7 and Vista. The available options are Read and Write, Read Only and Remove. If you select the Everyone option, perform the same action on the Everyone entry. In XP, the process is the same, but the permission options are Full Control, Change and Read Only. Select the check box in front of the level of permissions for each group or user.
After you have set all permission levels, click the OK button.
Click the OK button for each open dialog box to close the boxes. You have now successfully changed the folder access permissions.

In case you find it difficult to perform this task, call in the help of a computer support technician or contact Microsoft Support Center and get needed assistance.

No comments:

Post a Comment